Herzlich Willkommen im Domain-Forum von domain-people.de
Das Diskussionsforum rund um Domain-Namen.


Foren-Schnell-Suche:
Domain-/Whois-Check:


Aktuelles Datum und Uhrzeit: 18.05.2012, 01:58
Alle Zeiten sind UTC + 1 (Sommerzeit)
 Foren-Index » Domain-Foren » Domain-Recht / Domain-SOS

Der Fall Kiwi

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen Vorheriges Thema anzeigen :: Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Seite 1 von 1 [1 Beitrag]  
Autor Nachricht
BForeigner


Anmeldedatum: 08.04.2007
Beiträge: 406

BeitragVerfasst am: 20.01.2005, 21:07    Titel:  Der Fall Kiwi  


Takoma Park, MD - January 20, 2004 In a case heard by the World Intellectual
Property Organization (WIPO), Future Media Architects Inc.,
() has successfully defended against a challenge from Kiwi
European Holdings B.V. over its ownership and use of the domain name KIWI.com.
Future Media Architects will retain full rights and ownership of the domain name
in accordance with the WIPO ruling.

Though Kiwi European Holdings, a subsidiary of the Sara Lee Corporation owns the
popular KIWI brand of shoe care products and the related U.S. and foreign
trademarks, the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Panel found no evidence of bad
faith by FMA in its ownership of the domain name KIWI.com. The Panel concluded
that FMA neither intended nor created any consumer confusion or disruption
relating to the Kiwi Brand.

The decision by the Panel clearly establishes FMA's good faith ownership of the
KIWI.com domain name and affirms that ownership and use of generic domain names
is a legitimate and appropriate business activity. More importantly, the Panel
cited Kiwi European Holdings behavior as a clear abuse of administrative
procedure, by holding that Kiwi's complaint was brought in bad faith with a
complete lack of evidence in what the Panel termed a clear 'instance of reverse
domain name hijacking.'

"We are gratified that the Panel saw this complaint for what it was --
frivolous," said Stevan Lieberman of Greenberg & Lieberman, attorney for FMA and
recognized domain name dispute expert. "FMA will continue to vigorously defend
its intellectual property; it is just unfortunate that FMA has been forced to
defend itself against a complaint that had no basis. We certainly hope that
this ruling will dissuade other corporations from attempting to claim ownership
to generic terms to which they have no exclusive right." FMA currently manages a
portfolio of more than 100,000 domain names. Full text of the WIPO Arbitration
Panel's decision in Case No. D2004-0848 can be found online at:



Very Happy
Nach oben
Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden 
Beiträge der letzten Zeit anzeigen:   Sortieren nach:   
Seite 1 von 1 [1 Beitrag]  
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen Vorheriges Thema anzeigen :: Nächstes Thema anzeigen
 Foren-Index » Domain-Foren » Domain-Recht / Domain-SOS
Gehe zu:  
Du kannst keine Beiträge in dieses Forum schreiben.
Du kannst auf Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht antworten.
Du kannst deine Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht bearbeiten.
Du kannst deine Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht löschen.
Du kannst an Umfragen in diesem Forum nicht mitmachen.

Ähnliche Beiträge
Thema Autor Forum Antworten Verfasst am
Keine neuen Beiträge Abmahnung?? Fall wie bei n-tv bzw. ntv erichs Domain-Recht / Domain-SOS 2 28.03.2004, 13:55 Letzten Beitrag anzeigen
Keine neuen Beiträge Erstaunliche Wende im BGH-Fall maxem.de Domainsammler Domain-Recht / Domain-SOS 0 27.07.2003, 12:23 Letzten Beitrag anzeigen
Keine neuen Beiträge In diesem Fall besser MIT Bindestrich? www.domainhilfe.de Domain-Handel / Domain-Bewertung 0 14.01.2003, 02:19 Letzten Beitrag anzeigen
Keine neuen Beiträge Verpflichtungserklärung - Ein Fall vo... Küchenchef Domain-Recht / Domain-SOS 10 30.04.2002, 22:22 Letzten Beitrag anzeigen

Anzeige


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Deutsche Übersetzung von phpBB.de